Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    One Last Day in Bacalar

    April 7, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    Today I woke up extremely early again and headed downstairs for my Sunrise Stand-up Paddleboard Tour. It began at 540am, it was me, one other single girl and two hetero couples. Our guide was out of this world sexy... I noticed him during our morning workout carrying all the boards back up from the dock that day. I can't even remember his name now but whew. He was strong and tan and had tattoos and the most gorgeous curly long hair. He just looked like he belonged on the cover of every SUP magazine and under the covers of my bed. Haha just kidding, kind of. He took us to the Black Cenote first, which is 100 meters deep and so cool because you go from being in quite shallow water and then the earth just drops off and it's black. You can see nothing. We stopped on a dock there and drank some water and talked amongst ourselves. I told my story about swimming with Panchito and everyone seemed to be very amazed by it.

    We took off to our final destination, Pirates Channel. This is notoriously the channel that Pirates used to come through to try and take control of Bacalar. Someone once built a concrete structure there with the plan of making it a restaurant, but those plans were squashed when someone realized the environmental impact it would have on the Lagoon. So, now it is a strange shell of what looks like a wreched concrete pirate ship. Immediately when we arrived I had to climb onto the ship... It was begging to be explored. There was a pontoon boat near by with a bunch of party people and the first song I heard from them was MY song, "Vacation" by the Dirty Heads! It made my moment for sure. We swam around there and ate fruit for a bit before heading back. Our devilishly handsome guide took photos of all of us throughout the entire trip which was very nice. His French accent was a little weird with his voice but I could get used to it for a little bit 😁 I also feel like I could SUP all day!

    When we got back to the dock I immediately took a shower, and tried to cancel my sailing for the afternoon. It was not able to be cancelled so I just decided to dress cute and not swim. I ate some more avocado toast at the bar and used my free welcome drink, since the bartenders had not been charging me for like any of my alcohol, I still had it on my leaving day. They just kept giving me free, creative, and beautiful beverages, it was awesome!

    I moved all my things into my car and checked out of the hostel before being the first to board the catamaran and securing a coveted spot on the front of the boat. I was immediately joined by the self-proclaimed, "Big Booty Bitches of Bacalar." They were all in their early twenties and fucking wild! They would talk and it was clear that they all slept with different dudes each night and one of their previous prospects was on the boat, too. His name was Jack but they kept calling him Jonathan in a deep voice. It was shenanigans. They were so silly and fun, I loved them. We stopped for a swim near one of the cenotes off the Lagoon and they all were taking photos of eachother and decided they should all hold hands and jump in. I offered to take a video for them, and one girl, Eva, gave me her phone. I stood on the front side hull of the catamaran and they all lined up. When they jumped, the entire boat dropped out from under me and I completely lost my balance! I tried to stay on the boat for the phones sake, but I hit the boat with my knees and wrist and fell into the water, yelling, "Fuuuuckkkk!" The captain saw my hand up with the phone in it and jumped in after me to retrieve it. He got it before it even hit the bottom! Straight up hero! The phone was fine and I guess I was swimming at that point so I threw my harem pants up to the captain and enjoyed the warm water. After our swim we took the boat around Bird Island and went to the Pirates Channel for some more swimming. I wasn't going to get in again, as I had just become a dry person again but it was just too hot to stay out of the water. We took the boat back about 2pm and Eva let me use the shower in her dorm room. Jonathan needed a ride to Tulum, so he grabbed a shower as well and we took off! It was another pleasant drive with a stranger and he even split a tank of gas with me. I dropped him at his hostel, dropped off my laundry at Bo Laundry, and went onto mine, back to the Mayan Monkey 🐒 I got moved in and went straight to Mezzanine Restaurant on Tulum Beach North. It's where I had Thai food with Eugene and Carrie. I couldn't wait to eat there again! I had the exact same thing, Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce and Panang Curry Medium Heat, which they call, "Expatriot." Hotter than "Tourist" and not as hot as "Local."
    Read more