Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Online English Teaching

    November 18, 2020 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    It has been my plan for awhile now to become an online english teacher while we are situated in PDC for a month.

    I spent a week or so getting my TEFL certificate (Teaching English as a Foreign Language). Then another couple weeks going through the Palfish application process. Palfish is one of tons of companies that offer online english teaching/learning opportunities, most of which require a bachelors degree, or pay significantly less than Palfish. Most of these platforms are based in China and are intended for Chinese children between the ages of 4 and 12, but there are some platforms that are global and are more focused towards adults (but they usually pay less than half of companies like Palfish, or VIPKID).

    The application process for Palfish entails:

    -Creating a kid friendly background
    -Buying a blue shirt
    -Acquiring a TEFL
    -Passing an initial verification process (ID and TEFL check)
    -Passing a recorded mock lesson
    -Passing two training courses

    You have to promote yourself on their social media platform that kind of works like instagram, YouTube, Facebook messenger, and an online teaching platform all in one. I post “moments” on a daily basis, perform free live readings of popular children’s books, follow, like, and comment on other teacher and student profiles, and create my own personalized lecture content (there is an option to teach the platforms lesson plans for a fixed rate, or create you own lesson plans and charge your own rate, however, you are more likely to make better money teaching their planned out courses, but this limits your potential students).

    Teaching to children online requires A LOT of enthusiasm. I have to be very animated and happy, use a lot of rewards systems, repeat basic words over and over and over again. As an example:

    *Remember that you have to make grandiose physical gestures as your speaking. This is called TPR (Total Physical Response).

    Hello!!! I am Teacher Toria! What is your name???

    Apple! A-p-p-l-e. Say “a” ah ah ah-pp-le. Apple! GOOD JOB! HIGH FIVE! YOU GET A STAR!

    It can be a lot. Especially because I have to teach between 5am and 8 am.

    Anyways, I am writing this post weeks after the beginning of my ESL (English as a Second Language) “career,” and I can tell you that it has been an incredible challenge acquiring students. Because the platform requires self-promotion there are A LOT of hours that I have to work for free. I have spent an estimated 70ish unpaid hours in the last three weeks creating content for PalFish to promote myself and NOT EVEN ONE STUDENT has signed up. Apparently this is a common thing for new teachers and it can take up to six months before you see a regular schedule. I knew this going into it, but I have to say that I am quite burnt out from working so much without even a dollar to show for it.

    The first five pictures show some of my profile pictures for PalFish (I have to show that I'm friendly and have lots of props).

    The last five pictures show the covers I've made to promote my self made courses.

    Cost Breakdown (Approximate):

    TEFL = $20 USD
    Supplies = 250 pesos
    Read more