Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 197

    Bla

    July 1, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We enjoy our last delicious Tanzanian street foodi before I drop Philipp at the airport and continue to the city center in order to clean off my mobile home's patina which I worked so hard on during the past 5.5 months.
    Dar es Salaam is calmer than ever and feels very relaxing. Probably nothing changed since my last visit and it's rather interesting to observe how I adapted to this country. Once you become accustomed to the people, their habits, the every-day standard life, nothing can really knock you off any more. Situations which where stressing or uncomfortable before just don't arise and you start focussing your perception on all these many more tiny cultural details which satisfy your thirst. You finally arrived :-)

    Since Corona has been officially declared to be over a few weeks ago the people changed. They are warmer, friendlier, more open. I would call them "normal again". At least they seem to be happy and don't run away from big white guys any more :-D
    I usually avoid to talk about bullshitting politics but I cannot forbear to comment on this whole "situation" that maaaaybe this country's government - even though it has been criticized so thoroughly during the last months for it's scarce actions - is one of the few ones having reacted in the "right way". At least in the most reasonable way considering the country's economical and especially social structure. All the others just cry and throw curses because they are envious and cannot stand the truth. I know, this is pretty difficult to imagine and to realize for westerly-oriented paper pushers from their far and fancy thrones. But if you want to be capable of understanding, spend some time here.
    Read more