Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Close...

    June 20, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 54 °F

    Picked this National Forest camping spot about 30 minutes from Yellowstone. Have a mule deer as our neighbor.

    We had a pretty relaxed afternoon at this campsite. No amenities at all and quite a few people camping nearby but not so close they would bother us. Sadly another bag of trash was picked up by me from people trying to burn plastic and leaving their food wrappings all over. Don't people realize that calls bears to the campsite?

    Took a little hike down the NF road. Saw a few more mule deer but Redd was getting nervous because it was starting to look like it was going to snow. We had heard a radio report out of Boise that it was projected to snow that night, but I thought, "How can this be true? The temps are in the 40s". I guess that air temp doesn't matter when you live in high elevation.

    Redd cooked the most delicious dinner on the Blackstone griddle of french green beans and chicken breasts. We had just finished cleaning up when it began to snow. Big, thick, wet flakes of snow. I think it snowed for about an hour. Even stayed on the ground for a while.

    It really was so cold that night. I ended up sleeping in my coat and adding a blanket to the bed. I felt sorry for Chico and let him sleep with us in the bed that night.
    Read more