Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 6

    Sunday in the garden

    5 de mayo, Singapur ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    No rain this morning - sunny start and already warm. My soaked running shoes will dry! Kopi stall no 4. This is where the posh people go for their toast and kopi fix at Bersah FC. Good in a Ya Kun Kaya sort of way - won't make the Big Dance! Booked an online ticket for the Gardens at the Bay and gained a 15% discount for using my debit visa - discount AND no international fees! Sandy's new SMRT line goes to the gardens. Still a fair walk in a hot sun but the gardens inside are so air-conditioned as to be almost too cold! Saw a couple of sections and they took a while. The direct way to those amazing 'trees' was diverted due to maintenance so 'having seen them before' I bought a lime juice and retreated. My plan had been to go to Little India for a look around but at 12.30 on a hot Sunday with the known mayhem LI is known for, I couldn't do it! #maddogs but no englishman this time. So I stayed on Sandy's line to the new Tiong Bahru station, Havelock. A much better idea!! Did the circuit, the kueh line was huge, I avoided the fried kway teow as Kerry would tell me noodles are wrong and settled on a rojak from a stall who said established 1965. Johnny come latelys I reckon- even I was in Singapore before then! Rojak, if you haven't had it is a dish of ripe and unripe fruit and veg with crushed nuts and chilli/soy sauces. This wasn't a fruit salad (think Penang) but very savoury and spicy. I loved it and it is quite light. I am glad I deviated to TB - a good tick! Some pool time but still couldn't escape some afternoon thunder. 3 Singapore Airforce F35A Fighters having some fun LIV I expect. I didn't get to Little India so a little place nearby I have been looking at was the go for dinner. A mutton set with dahl, spiced rice, yum potatos, pappdums and naan looked yum for $8 - and it was. I added onion pakoora for $4 and it was excellent but too much. Enjoyed the meal, left enough to be not horribly full and $5 beers finished me off! I love this place! A lesson though...if the place sells a dish then they think that is probably going to be enough. You add stuff and.....#yourperilLeer más