Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Stage 19: Laon to Corbeny

    May 8, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 66 °F

    Its spelling notwithstanding, Laon is pronounced like the English word “long” but without the “ng.”

    Misty, wet day. A lot was through farmland, with wet grass halfway to my knees, but most of it was through vast forests.

    I saw my second fox today. This one led me through the forest, keeping about 50 yards ahead.

    My feet are showing the consequences of walking for long hours in sopping wet shoes and socks. I am pretty sure I’m going to lose one nail, I have several hotspots, and some skin is peeling.

    Since I started I have been walking through colza, newly planted beets, and barley. I was told all the green fields were wheat, but today I learned they are barley. 🤷🏻‍♀️Today I saw that the barley is starting to develop shoots.
    Read more