Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Stage 25: Châlons-en-Champagne to Saint-

    May 14, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 50 °F

    Stage 25: Châlons-en-Champagne to Saint-Amand-sur-Fion

    Narrowly averted disaster today. Last night I called to confirm my arrival time for tonight’s hotel, only to learn the hotel had shut down. Lots of scrambling, with loads of help from my friend Danielle. The challenge is that the VF goes through small villages, many (or most) without any markets, restaurants, bars, cafés, hotels, gîtes, etc. Very early this morning, around 4am, I received a message from Sébastien Charlot, who had unearthed a chambres d’hôtes in Saint-Amand-sur-Fion! Yay! It meant a very long day walking, but that was OK because I had a confirmed, safe place to sleep tonight.

    Sébastien Charlot is a Camino Angel, and this is the second time he has helped me this trip. The first was when my travel buddy, Belén, hurt her Achilles. We were stranded, and Sébastien drove to us, picked Belén up and drove her to Saint-Omer so she ……(cont.)
    Read more