Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    VIJF FOTOS-Amsterdam Day 8

    June 11, 2022 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Today was a pretty quiet day as we started making preparations for our travels to Paris tomorrow morning.

    I thought this might be a good time to share overall impressions of the city. First, the canals really do add to the charm of the city. We love the canal house facades, and the quirky use of space.

    I won't miss the ching-ching sounds of bicycles or the tell-tale rattle from behind that a bike is approaching. I have found the bicycle bells annoying even though I like the concept of less cars. Jim C and I both observed that the least consideration is for pedestrians. Crosswalks without a controlled walk/ don't walk light mean nothing. One must remain ever vigilant about not colliding with someone on a bike.

    We did take a brief stroll through the red light district. It felt a lot like a walk on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. I recognize that I need to keep my judgment in check, but other than the novelty of this historical area, I wondered about the quality of life for the sex workers. It does appear that laws provide some protections for them.

    I liked the social aspect of the kaffee houses. It's interesting how the laws work where you can legally smoke in the cafes, but it's technically illegal to smoke on the street. It's clear from the frequent whiffs of smoke that many ignore the rule.

    I will not miss steep narrow spiral staircases which are understandably ubiquitous in the city. Our flat was essentially in attic space. We got used to navigating the steps over time although I had the extra challenge of ducking to avoid concussions with low beams and ceilings.

    The food and service were all great. We found all service workers to be friendly and helpful. We loved the outdoor café atmosphere. We enjoyed different flavor variations of Dutch cheese, and the opportunity to sample local and Belgian beers.

    When we learned more about the stories of Jews who lived in Amsterdam and the number who perished in the Holocaust, I was reminded of a book that I read when I was about eight years old: "The Winged Watchman". It was a fictional children's story about the Nazi occupation of The Netherlands, a family who were part the resistance fighters and the dynamics of other neighbors who were Nazi sympathizers. It was a very challenging topic, and I remember asking my parents many questions about the Nazis and treatment of the Jews. I'm grateful that I wasn't sheltered from these stories. The question I had as a child remains: How could anything like the Holocaust happen?

    Jim C and I compared our impressions of the week at a local Soul Food Café for dinner. We ended the night with a very late visit to a dance club. The atmosphere was charged and the music was WAY TOO LOUD. It was still a fun way to end the week.

    Amsterdam is a city of contrast. It's a playground for the young, and a somber reminder to those who pause to reflect upon the unfathomable devastation during WWII.

    We will be back for a few more days next week with the opportunity to sleep on a boat.

    Be well,
    Jim
    Read more