Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 82

    CÚIG GHRIANGHRAF-IRELAND Day 17

    July 4, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Today was a quiet day. I spent most of the time just relaxing at our B&B, and Jim C managed to land a tee time at the Donegal Golf Club. I was really glad that he could make the time to do this and do something that he's loved for over fifty years. He did send me a photo of sand trap that he managed to find on the first hole. I'm thinking that it was designed by Satan and not St. Patrick.

    "No summer's high, no warm July...I just called to say I love you."

    Stevie Wonder's song has been an earworm today as his lyrics note that there was no special occasion or holiday as the excuse to call. It was simply to express love. When we first planned this trip, we noted the different occasions that we would miss in the states: many family birthdays, the wedding of our friends Christian and Brett and lastly Independence Day. I wondered what it would be like to miss an American holiday, but I have to admit that this year I'm relieved to be in a country where it isn't observed.

    I see friends expressing conflicted feelings about celebrating July 4th when too many Anericans are treated as less than. Back home we would have wanted to celebrate with family and friends, but my focus would be on them and not with a sense of pride in my country. Patriotism seems reserved for white supremacist homophobic and misogynistic men. Exchanges on social media openly portray that fracture among family and friends.

    Come November I pray that "We, the People" will prevail and that we insist on government that is accountable and acts with integrity.

    I think Mark Twain got it right: "Patriotism is supporting your country all the time and your government when it deserves it."

    Today I was talking with one of the staff at the B&B. Her husband is from Sacramento and they met here in Donegal and he is a local minister. She expressed appreciation for Americans and America and said "I don't think you know how lovely you all are." I responded, "I hope that we find that again."

    I appreciate her reminder. We certainly are struggling to see the light in one another. I know that I struggle to find any light in those who are determined to oppress others.

    A friend posted some of the lyrics of Woody Guthrie's "This Land is Your Land". Growing up, I only knew the flowery lyrics that we sang in elementary school. Those were the only lyrics that my friend quoted on their post. But there are adfitional lyrics that Woody wrote that seem more relevant today:

    "As I went walking I saw a sign there,
    And on the sign it said "No Trespassing."
    But on the other side it didn't say nothing.
    That side was made for you and me.

    In the shadow of the steeple I saw my people,
    By the relief office I seen my people;
    As they stood there hungry, I stood there asking
    Is this land made for you and me?

    Nobody living can ever stop me,
    As I go walking that freedom highway;
    Nobody living can ever make me turn back
    This land was made for you and me."

    So today was without a BBQ. There was no time with family and friends. There were no fireworks or parades. We did enjoy a quiet dinner our and we reflected on our day and planned for our travels tomorrow.

    When Jim returned from the golf links, he noted that the sand trap was designed in a way that if you land in one and are on the edge, you invariably have to go backwards to go forward. It seems like we're on the edge of our own manufactured sand trap. We have certainly experienced going backwards. Perhaps we can find a way together to go forward. That's my prayer for this 4th of July.

    Meanwhile, I just blogged to say I love you. ❤️

     
    Read more