Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Going Home Part Deux

    October 13, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    Oh Lord, please see us safely home. We made it back to Miami airport, got our bags from the mass of luggage from a canceled Havana flight, cleared security and to our gate without incident. Both mom and I slept some but we were up and going by 3:30 am.

    I spent some of the food voucher on a bag of
    Fun size snickers…that cost $30 flipping dollars. But we needed to use the vouchers…after we got to Atlanta I figured out I could add some of what was left to my Chic-fil-a app. So now it’s $50 up and that means more breakfasts for me and Kyrie! Mom and I both had Chic-fil-a for breakfast and it actually tasted pretty good.

    The last flight to Atlanta was rough. We were in the very last row. The sound of the engine was so loud and smelled so gassy I was terrified something was really really wrong with the plane. The landing was one of the bumpiest and sudden stops I’ve ever encountered. By the time we got to the gate, all I wanted was out. The seat belt sign went off but no one moved. Mom asked the attendant if we could go, she said yes and off we went. I was trying not to barf on anyone. Some people were saying catty things about no one following rules and the like which, I won’t lie, hit me pretty hard. Both Mom and I tried so hard the whole trip to do the right thing, be polite and understanding and patient. The one time we stepped out of line people were mean. Rrrgh. I should have just puked on them.

    It took me a bit to get my breath back. I hated the fact I was out of sorts when I was got to finally see dad and Kyrie. I felt so much better when I saw them though! Our bags were already set out for us at the baggage claim. Everyone else seemed to have vanished. Fine with me. We rode a cart tram to the van in the parking lot. Dad got us home safely.

    It was a wonderful trip. And it was wonderful to come home again!
    Read more