Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Costa Ma—wait, I mean Cozumel.

    January 24 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    We had to cancel manatee encounter tour. No one is sure what the new sailing plan is. Mom and I had breakfast at Taste. While there I did some online research. And I found another encounter…. Today Gram and I will swim with sharks and stingrays! (If she doesn’t kill me first 😋)

    We were able to get tickets at the information box in town. They provided transportation both ways so that was cherry. At Stingray Beach we got in a group of 6. First was the snorkeling in deeper water with two sharks…Don’t worry they were nurse sharks. Unfortunately my underwater photographs didn’t work. But Mom did great on her second time snorkeling.

    Then we went into to neighboring enclosure to interact with the string rays. We were each given half a fish to feed the rays. Sadly mine got snarfed by a pelican. I’m not proud of what I did next…I grabbed the sucker by the neck and tried to get my fish out the side of its beak. I did not squeeze or anything, just kinda held it in place. But the guide asked me to stop so I did. That dratted pelican swan in front of me just out of reach the rest of the time…grr.
    Read more