Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Leaving on a Jet Plane

    25 luglio 2018, Australia ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    When you are planning a trip,wether it is a weekend away or a trip of a lifetime there is always the problem of packing. What to take? Romantic interludes require the garments of seduction. You always want to look and smell good. Tracking across a country requires a completely different mindset and wardrobe and a good pair of hiking boots. Asian countries can also pose a problem,temples and places of religious significance require the head to be covered and the feet to be bare. Although what self respecting woman doesn’t have a scarf of some king nestling in a bad somewhere. The most difficult holiday to pack for are the changing seasons. Where you are beginning your journey in a cold climate and then jetting off to the sun. With most airlines now only allowing 22kgs of luggage and weighing hand luggage clever packing is the order of the day.

    I remember in my youth dragging huge cases to the airport,only to have labels slapped on them ‘HEAVY’ like a warning. A trip to Athens many years ago had me dumping luggage as it was ruining my holiday having to drag it into taxis,airports,and unsealed roads. Being a very small skinny girl it was almost impossible to enjoy my journey as I was always worrying about the next pull on the suitcase and the backpack becoming heavier with each new city. So I sent half my luggage home at immense cost and began to feel like a bird that had been freed from a cage. It was a lifelong lesson,and I didn’t miss any of the clothes I had packed.

    In the 1990’s travelling was a breeze as I was a backpacker and my luggage weighed no more than 13kgs. Unfortunately I am a little more mature now and my luggage has crept back up to 22kgs with cabin luggage of 7kgs and a small pouch for passports and valuables which I wear under my clothes for safety. I am usually heading for a destination I can leave most of my luggage while I take day trips and tour around unencumbered. I still find after thirty years of travelling packing for a holiday is still the most frustrating thing. Last year I was invited to a wedding in Sydney in January I had purchased a beautiful summer dress and was all set. The preceding few weeks Sydney’s weather was like a roller coaster of temperatures so I had to buy another outfit to compensate in case the weather was cold. Only a small thing but it changed the shoes I was to wear,my handbag, hat etc. so before long my luggage had doubled. Plus I was flying to England from there so costs and boots were the order of the day. Luckily I saw sense and only packed my original outfit as if the weather decided to be cruel I would buy an outfit in Sydney and for $10 post it home.

    So am I excited about my upcoming trip to the UK. You bet I am. I am travelling with my daughter and grandchildren,Ollie and Audrey. I have not travelled with my daughter since she was seventeen and she turns forty eight this year,so we shall see if we are still compatible travellers.

    Perth is known as one of the most isolated cities in the world. The nearest city is 2,130km away. Unlike Europe driving in the country may mean driving nearly a hundred kilometres. But we as Perthites are proud of our city and we love that we are isolated until it comes to travel. Our nearest destination is Bali which is three hours by air and is a popular destination for families as it is economical and tropical. Plus the culture is as different to Perth as Mars is to earth. Bali is also a great stopover destination for travellers embarking on a European trip.

    On the trip to the UK we are travelling direct to Birmingham but on our return journey we will be stopping over inParis for three days (yes I’m stoked I like millions before me love Paris) departing Paris our little entourage will be landing in Dubai where for three days we will indulge in every theme park and kid place we can fit in before flying home to relax. So only three sleeps ........and counting .
    Leggi altro