Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    Day 68, Easter Supra in Tbilisi

    April 16, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    A beautiful Georgian tradition is the Supra, a gathering of family and friends filled with food, wine, and many toasts (led by the Tamada) to celebrate a special day. On this ‘2nd Easter’ of our journey, we were invited to an Easter Supra with our special friends, Lali, Dato, Gio, and Ana, and their families. Lali is the English teacher I met on our first trip to Georgia. She connected me with my Georgian students, including Ana, Dato, and Gio who are Lali’s niece and nephews. I met with Ana for a shorter time but with Dato and Gio for several years and with whom I developed a special bond. The evening was lively and delicious, filled with love, lots of laughter, and singing. 🎶 Today is a day I had been looking forward to with great anticipation. Halfway through the evening, Mark turned to me and said now he totally understood why.Read more