Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Day 79, More Western Georgia

    April 27, 2023 in Georgia ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    I spent the day exploring Kutaisi: it’s market, central park, and ‘focal point’ church. Mark was at a winery (below). I found Kutaisi to be a combination of charm and grunge, easy to navigate, with a mix of interesting architecture and block after block of Stalinist apartments, a 1950’s hilltop amusement park, and Soviet-era cable cars. All set along a beautiful Rioni River. 🌟
    From Mark: I had one of my best Georgian experiences with Gia Chubinidze from Nunua Winery. Gia is a fifth generation wine maker who collects grape varietals from all over Georgia and his vine ‘library’ now totals over 100 species. I was moved by his love and passion for both wine and it’s significance to Georgian history, culture, and faith. “God is love”, he tells me. “And God’s blood is wine. Therefore wine is also love.” His wine making is truly a calling.
    Read more