Satellite
Show on map
  • Home time - day 51

    June 2, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    The hotel did really nice breakfasts each day – omelette and rice and fruit as well as toast if you wanted it. After breakfast we went back to the massage salon, and I had a leg massage for an hour – cost of $10, and it was great. Then had a last wee shop – Jody managed to find me a Shark silver pendant – a nice lunch, and then it was time for our driver to take us to the airport.
    I don’t think I will ever arrive at an airport again with a thin strappy dress and jandals – it was really hot even inside the terminal. I had more of a clear out of luggage while we were waiting to board, and managed to get within the baggage allowance.

    We had a brilliant flight home as Jody had the 4 centre seats to herself, and I had the 3 window seats. We had changed our seat selection shortly before the flight as we had noticed the spare seats. So that was very nice to have a bit of sleep.
    We arrived in Auckland around 4.20am. I bumped into a work colleague who I knew was arriving about the same time from South America. We were going to have a chat, but ended up waiting a long time for Jody’s bag to turn up. We really thought it wasn’t going to, but nek minit there it was. So it was time for us to say goodbye after 51 amazing days away with someone I didn’t really know that well before we left. I can’t quite say the same now! Jody went off to domestic for her flight to New Plymouth while I caught a bus to the Manukau terminal – which was way flasher than last time I did this – and then a direct bus to Hamilton where Christine and my boys were waiting for me.
    Looking forward to the next holiday already!
    Read more