Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Narbonne the unexpected stop

    March 15, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌬 15 °C

    So, the train only went as far as Narbonne. So I ended up in Narbonne at 8am. Spent more time investigating what trains or replacement buses were running and if any of them would get me closer to Spain. Also looked at Blabacar (which seems to be actual ride sharing like Uber etc were supposed to be), but all the lifts would involve me getting about 2 miles out of town. So I found a quite cheap AirBnB who looked like they hadn't had people staying yesterday and asked very nicely if I could check in early and they were fine with that. Phew!

    So I am exploring Narbonne today instead of being in my way to Barcelona. All part of the interrailing adventure. At 5pm I will check the train plans (and read them better this time). I am hoping that they will be alternating and there will be a train to Portbou early, as there was yesterday. If not, I will immediately book a seat on a Flixbus and get me over the border that way.

    Narbonne is pretty. With a canal. And my favourite – winding streets. I may grab some lunch and then head back to the Airbnb for a nap.
    Read more