Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Cafe Mexicana

    11. Dezember 2019 in Irland ⋅ ☀️ 6 °C

    Today started off with me invigilating the chemistry exam at college. I must have been asked about fifty questions during the exam, almost all of which were aiming to get me to give away the correct answer! After that, we had a staff meeting and I had my one-to-one feedback session with my manager, following my lesson observation in November. She didn’t have much to say, except to ask if I would deliver a CPD session in January to share some of my resources and activities with the other teachers! I’m the only staff member with a formal teaching qualification, so my manager is keen that I share some ideas on structuring lessons etc with the others. It’ll be extra work for me, but it’s good to get this positive feedback too!
    That evening, me and Peter decided to go for dinner. We wandered down to the Paul Street area of the city, which has loads of restaurants of every different type. We ended up in Cafe Mexicana, which is a very cute, small Mexican restaurant. The food was lovely!
    Afterwards, we joined some people from the UCC chemistry department for a drink in Electric. Here I met a woman from the department for the first time, and she seems to be the definition of a Cork person with a chip on their shoulder! Her first sentence to me was “how are you finding Cork, given that all you Dublin people don’t like us at all and are of the opinion that we think we’re full of ourselves?” This was followed up with something along the lines of “so, have you found it hard settling in, when Cork people all think they’re better than Dublin people?” My general response was that I hadn’t really come across that at all and that we’ve been getting on great. What else could you say?! This woman, who is older than me, later announced to us all that she’d never lived anywhere outside of Cork city in her life. Not the most surprising revelation ever! 😆
    Weiterlesen