Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Off the coast of northern Spain

    February 5, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Second sea day. The Atlantic is much calmer and it is warmer with only a slight breeze which encourages walks on deck but is not yet conducive to eating alfresco. We walked the upper deck together after lunch to help clock up the steps.
    Today's art work was produced on blank paper using a grid to achieve correct proportions. I'm like a schoolboy achieving something new and loving the praise.
    Dennis and I came 5th out of 16 in yesterday's bridge tournament and are getting to know each other. He is one of those Saga customers, invited to the Captain's table for the formal dinner this evening, driven directly to the embarkation point when boarding (while the rest of us have to walk the gang planks) and is known by many of the staff. He is a retired marine engineer who had his own ship (not boat) repair business, has just downsized from his 7 bedroom house set in 4 acres and has lived near Gravesend all his life. I must arrange dinner with him and his wife so that Susan and he can compare geographical anecdotes.
    I'm maintaining my promise to visit the gym dailly. I must be the only person to work out to Elgar's Dream of Gerotius.
    Susan is now an expert on medieval and renaissance architecture and it is rumoured that she has been seen on the dance floor. This was when I was not there to keep her in check as I was watching the comedian in the theatre at the time.
    Formal dinner this evening but Susan and I managed to book a table at the Amalfi, the speciality Italian restaurant. Very nice. Prawns, spaghetti con aïoli and seafood stew. Lemon tart for dessert. I can't remember the Italian names for the dishes.
    Congratulations to the Birchalls and the Smiths on the birth of Casper. Thanks for the photos - he is wonderful.
    Read more