Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Bay of Biscay

    February 4, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Back to our cabin quite early as we did not sleep that well last night. Just the usual first night issues. A Motown tribute act named Masterpiece have entertained us well in the theatre this evening so we've been tapping and clapping along to the likes of 'Me and Mrs Jones', 'I 'll be there', ' My guy' and 'Tears of a clown'. They were very good'.
    My internet isn't working well and this is why I'm blogging using Susan's phone.
    The photo of the seascape watercolour is not, as you might think, from the walls of the ship, but is the result of my fist ever attempt at this art form. Just a mixture of simple washes and subsequent paint removal, I found the experience relaxing and enjoyable and will be back in the class after breakfast tomorrow morning. I've also been revising and playing Bridge. In the duplicate competition this afternoon my partner, Dennis, and I didn't do too well but I think that his errors were more to blame than mine. More about Dennis tomorrow.
    Meanwhile, Susan has found no need to justify immersing herself in a book. She attended a talk on our first port of call, Cadiz, bringing back memories of 20 years ago with Yvonne, John and the children.
    I kept my promise to myself and , dressed in my snazzy new training gear from Primark went for a brisk walk on the treadmill in the fitness centre. I was the only person there!, Susan returned from the lecture by Julia Bradbury worried because she found out that she has been breathing incorrectly for the past sixty years. Apparently her father was right when he used to tell her to breath through her nose.
    We went for the less formal Grill again tonight. Venison carpaccio, cold plum and Armagnac soup and duck for Susan and prawns on toast with avocado, parsnip soup and monkfish in bacon for me. We both ended with French apple tart and ice-cream. Passed the meal in quite animated conversation with an ex fireman and special needs teacher worried about the current state of the world. We agreed that our generation have been very fortunate and had not faced any real problems requiring fortitude until covid.
    Read more