Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5: Sezanne - Algure

    August 17, 2016 in France ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Distance: 22.5KM (111.5/1888.5)
    Weather: 29C, too hot to hike
    Mood: A little tired...
    Blisters: 5 (2 new!) It is starting to become uncomfortable

    Finding the pilgrim in me

    First of all we would like to apologise for the outrageous spelling error in yesterday's entry. All has been corrected now.

    The roads remain long and straight and too be frank, rather boring. Farmland after farmland and a few wildflowers, a tiny bit of hill or there and that sums it up. I think this is finally starting yo awaken the pilgrim in me. The repetition and the long stretches of road create a rhythm that put my busy mind at ease. I'm starting to feel like the walking at times is almost automatic.
    And then at times it feels like the opposite of automatic, the blisters have come, despite all my amazing prevention efforts and they hurt. The backpack is too heavy, especially after yesterday's shopping spree (I wanted to eat everything in the super, asked yesterday after surviving 32 km on one baguette and a Snelle Jelle) and I slept too short. I think a bit of suffering is almost a natural part of being a pilgrim. And because of that, I need to find a rhythm, keep going, counting and remembering that I don't want to give up!
    Read more