Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Asado

    October 14, 2023 in Argentina

    Red meat is huge here. The pampas region of the country has been cattle area for over 100 years and cooking that meat is a specialty.
    I heard about Fagon Asado from another traveler and I was lucky to get a seat for 1 in short notice.
    There is one seating a night and the dinner took 3 hours so it was truly an event.
    The seats were in a square around a wood fire BBQ thing. The rack went in a circle and the chefs could place everything from ribs to dishes on the rack, spin it to hot or cold areas of the fire with great results.
    It was a bit of a show also. I made my own chimichury (sp) sauce, selected my own steak knife, and branded my own desert.
    I passed up the wine pairing as I knew that over the three hours I’d drink the wine and then loose the experience.
    Read more