Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Arc de Triomphe, Paris

    September 2, 2018 in France ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Feeling very feet sore it was a relief to finally reach the Arc de Triomphe. Seeing it brought back so many memories from my Year 8 French lessons. I couldn't believe I was actually standing in front of it. Luckily I had done a little research and knew we had to walk under the road to reach the Arc de Triomphe, not risk our lives like some idiots trying to cross the extremely busy ring road.

    Measuring 50m tall and 45m wide, the Arc de Triomphe is the most monumental of all triumphal arches. It was built between 1806 and 1836 with its main purpose being to celebrate the victory of Napoleon. At the base of the Arch stands a torch and every evening at 6:30 pm it is rekindled to recognise the sacrifice of an unknown French soldier who gave his life during World War I, whose body is buried there.

    Thankfully we were able to get to the top in the lift and did not have to climb the 284 steps. The lift itself was amazing as it was a semi circle shape. Very unique and a bit claustrophobic, but I would have put up with anything so I wouldn't have to climb the stairs. I don't think my feet would have held up to the challenge at this stage.

    The views from the top were breathtaking and we could see the entire city spread out below. I loved the contrast of the leafy avenues against the white of the buildings. It was also a great view to some of the spectacular gardens built on top of the buildings. How on earth they built them there is beyond me. And of course, another great view of the iron lady, the Eiffel Tower.

    I was glad we managed to make our way here to experience the views, and to recall some school day memories.
    Read more