Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Torre del Mangia, Siena

    September 27, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    After our leisurely breakfast, I headed off to find somewhere to get my fringe cut, while Brad made the climb to the top of the tower. I must say I was quite pleased with myself, as I managed to get my fringe cut by an Italian who did not speak one word of English. It is amazing what you can communicate with hand gestures.

    So while I got my hair cut and then explored the areas around the Piazza, Brad made the climb to the top of the Torre del Mangia. Built in 1338 – 1348, it was one of the tallest secular towers in medieval Italy. At 102 meters it was built to be exactly the same height as the Siena Cathedral as a sign that the church and the state had equal amounts of power.

    Literally meaning “Tower of the Eater”, the name refers to its first bellringer, Giovanni di Balduccio, nicknamed Mangiaguadagni, “Eat-the-profits”, either for his spendthrift tendency, idleness or gluttony.

    Brad made the 400-step climb up the narrow stairways with irregular heights, to the bell tower and the breathtaking views from the top. Thankfully he took my camera with him so I could also admire the views. They were very impressive.
    Read more