Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Day 63

    April 8 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Phong Nha > Tam Coc

    We had decided on Paradise Cave as our cave of choice as it seemed to be the most accessible without a guide. After breakfast we headed out. The drive, again, was super scenic and it took us over this sketchy bridge which rattled as we drove over each lose metal plate. When we arrived we paid for parking, paid for entry then hopped into a golf buggy to the cave entrance. This cave was bloody humongous and was 31km long - the longest in the national park. Throughout the whole cave was a wooden walkway and lights making the whole cavern glow. The pathway didn't stretch very far into the 31km but for the small section we ventured through it was mighty impressive with such interesting rock structures. The only drawback of all the lights meant taking pictures became hard as it was often too bright. After our little adventure we made our way back and decided to grab some food from the restaurant at the entrance. It had started to get a little bit rainy so I moved our scooters under cover and whipped out my poncho that I had been carrying about for 2 months without any use (though it would have been super handy when we did the Alpine Coaster).

    The food was actually really good - though I am a sucker for fried noodles. It seems that the light rain showed no sign of easing as the whole sky became a fog of dismal grey - akin to 90% of winter in the UK, although I now realise it's definitely spring and may soon be nicer weather back home than here as rainy season approaches fast. We decided to head back to our homestay to avoid being caught out in any potential rain. After getting dangerously close to running out of fuel, I topped up and we scurried back home in our ponchos - really completing my astronaut look with my helmet.

    Our bus wasn't till half 9 and it was only 3 so we had some time to kill - so we went to a café nearby our hostel to chill for a while. I ended up going for a smoothie bowl even though I wasn't hungry atall and Daisy and I spent far too long building pyramids from playing cards. Daisy was so much better and faster than me but I managed to capture a picture of the exact moment her 5 tall pyramid collapsed as she placed her final card. We play some cards games too but eventually we're highly encouraged to pay and leave as they were shutting.

    We chill at our hostel for a bit before I go and grab some snacks for the journey and then we grab some dinner - even though none of us were that hungry - because we knew we would be on the bus otherwise. We go a close by vegan restaurant and I had some Korean sushi rolls called kimbap which were tasty and plentiful which sushi usually isn't. Unable to get a grab we walked to the pickup point where in some stroke of luck we were welcomed onto a luxury bus even though we definitely booked the cheap uncomfortable bus. Confused as to how we had won the transport lottery - we definitely didn't mention the possible mixup and enjoyed the journey.

    Well I say enjoyed the journey. I certainly did, it was the most comfortable bus we had been on so far and I watched some great YouTube before having a decent nap. We ended up arriving 3 hours before we were meant to at 3.30am where I had come to learn that Alfie and Daisy had had a horrible journey and both been very sick multiple times - suffering from food poisoning. It was too early to start the day anyway and they were both needing somewhere to stay so I went on the search for a place that was open. This was a physical search by the way, I wandered around various hostels, homestays, and hotels until I found an open reception. Little tip, when places put "24 hour reception" in their description they are lying to you 80% of the time. I eventually found a place and through Google translate communicated what we needed. I ended up with my very first private room in the entire trip and the others ended up with 2 double beds. It was about 5 or 6am by the time i had figured this out, collected keys, picked up my bags, showed Alfie and Daisy to their room, showered, then I promptly went to bed as the sun rose.
    Read more