Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Sandy Point Beach

    October 28, 2023 on the U.S. Virgin Islands ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    I was lucky enough to be here when the most beautiful beach on the island was open! Sandpoint Beach is closed eight months of the year because it is a wildlife refuge for sea turtle nesting. This year they had over 1500 sea turtles lay eggs on the refuge. It is only open for a few months on the weekends, so I took the opportunity to go on my last day in St. Croix. It really was the most beautiful beach I’ve ever been to, you can also stand on the most southern point of the United States on the southern tip of this island. The water was so clear and turquoise. It was stunning. It’s also where the final scene of Shawshank redemption was filmed, if you know that movie. I ended up chatting with a park ranger and two men from Columbia, who were visiting and learned a lot about the sea turtles. He showed us a path where a sea turtle just the night before had laid her eggs, and then crawled back down the hill into the sea. it was definitely my favorite beach that I have visited on the island!Read more