Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Amed so far

    23 januari 2019, Indonesien ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    I didn't sleep well because of the heat, but even so I was wide awake throughout my journey to Ames because there was so much to look at. In Asian cities there is activity on every corner, and in between. Then as we got further from the city my excitement increased as the beauty of the land started to show itself. Even with the grey skies of monsoon season the land is so bright in different colours of green. The road continued with bends and turns uphill and I felt like I was travelling toward a secret. I wasn't, because Amed is one of the biggest diving spots on the Island, but with the beauty of the journey I could convince myself that!

    Arriving in Amed the bus passed my accommodation and then continued for nearly 3km before stopping in the centre of Amed, by the beach. I was wondering if I had made a poor choice with my booking- having made it based upon the fact it came with free accommodation whilst I did my diving course. But as I walked through the town and heard a constant noise of motorbikes and scooters I began to think I had made a good choice. Once I arrived and got settled in and went for a walk I was sure I had. My hostel is surrounded by farmland and the beach that the town is built on is black because of the volcanic rock-not really something so appealing to lounge on. And although there isn't such a choice of places to eat it also means it is peaceful, with the noise of vehicles in the distance instead of right in my ears.

    I have come to Bali, and Amed in particular, mainly to get my advanced diving course done, in preparation for the Philippines next month. With it being monsoon season this is the best place on the island to go diving as it has year round good visibility and some brilliant dive sights. However it is still low season, because of the weather, so I am the only person on my course. This is a perk as it means my dives will be personal and we will see more, with no-one else to disturb the fish. The course involves doing 5 skilled dives and studying so to be prepared for them. So yesterday I spent most of the day studying. It isn't fun reading from a book and I was really tired so my attention span was poor, but I managed it and completed all six chapters in the day.

    Then today I was meant to start diving, but the swell was too high on the sea so it wasn't safe. So I needn't have rushed my studying! But anyway I made the most of the day and went exploring. When I left my hostel I was surprised by a view of a huge volcano-today has been a much clearer and drier day so suddenly I can see for miles and WOW. I took a walk in the direction of the volcano, through farmland and passing small hamlets, until I got hungry. Then I turned around and walked toward the coast, where I knew there were plenty of restaurants. Amed main street is lined with dive shops, homestays and restaurants. The menu seams to be pretty much the same in everyone I have looked at, but the prices vary slightly. I've been eating meals for less than £2.50 and feeling stuffed from them. Today I had vegetable satay with papaya and lemon salsa and rice and this evening I had boiled vegetables, tofu, rice and a peanut sauce. If it weren't for all the rice I would be quite happy as I can get plenty of fruit and vegetables and I was surprised that they have tofu.

    I spent most of the day walking and meeting the occasional person to have a chat with, by the time I got back to my hostel I was really tired and ready to relax. It has been a nice dry day and I ventures further than I expected to, seeing much more of the coast and surrounding countryside. So it turns out I am quite glad that I couldn't dive today. Hopefully though tomorrow I'll be underwater again.
    Läs mer