Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Puerto Viejo de Talamanca

    December 30, 2017 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Reaching Lazy Loft

    The next day I went by bus to Puerto Viejo. Right at the bus station I met the first German guys from Hamburg. (Costa Rica is full of German tourists!) Bus rides are crazy over hear. We passed the landscape in a life threatening tempo without paying attention to any speed limit driving through narrow streets. (I already prepared myself to find the best position for surviving a crash with an accommodating bus or some palm trees ..). After 5 hours we finally made it but were welcomed by pure rainfall. I made my way through the small town asking for the hostel. At least I found the hostel and was welcomed very warmly and with a big smile by another volunteer. All the volunteer seemed to be a nice and lovely group. A life band was playing (actually at least one life band is always playing in the evenings downstairs in the bar Lazy Mon). My first shopping tour turned out to be very pricey. Costa Rica is very expensive to buy food in comparison to other Latin American countries. One just has to find its way to eat at least a bit healthy but still buy always the most cheapest things only. My first meal: Toast bread with avocado and tomato. Tired of the journey, I went to bed very soon this night.

    The next morning it was still bucketing down. I thought that at least at the beach would be good weather but it didn’t stop raining. The only good thing was: I didn’t have to work and in the evening would be a big party at the hostel as I was told. In the evening we got ourselves ready for the New Years party. Everyone was quite excited. In celebration of the day, we went into the bar to get something to eat. The Burger was super delicious and as volunteers we always get 25 percents off. The bar Lazy Mon below the hostel was full of people. There were two live bands playing. The second one was a Reggae band. (side note: Reggae is a very common and popular musical style at the Caribbean sea because the immigration of Afro-American people had a great influence on the music in this region). At 12 p.m. the beachside was completely crowded and then there was no holding the people back from getting rid of there fireworks deposits. Afterwards, there was a very impressive fire show and the rest of the night a DJ was heating up the crowd. At 6 a.m. the party seemed to reach its end.

    Happy New Year and Pura Vida from Costa Rica to everyone!!
    Read more