Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Tonight or tomorrow?

    June 11, 2017 in England ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I checked the forecasts as I sat in the cockpit having my breakfast.
    There there were two windows available if I was going to escape as I had to take into account the strong tides at Portland Bill.
    The first window meant I'd have to leave Weymouth at 23.30 tonight and the second meant waiting till 11.30 tomorrow.

    When I called to the harbour office to fix up, they kindly told me that they would not charge me if I was leaving tonight but if I ended up staying overnight then to call in tomorrow to pay.

    I wandered around parts of the town I hadn't yet explored and found a coffee shop to refuel and read the paper.
    Later in the old section of the town I heard music and followed the sound until I came on a square where there was a band set up outside a pub.
    It was a lively place and the band were playing 50's & 60's classics, right up my street.
    Some of the customers were jiving away, having left their sticks and mobility scooters next to their tables. Rock & Roll is good for the health!

    I got myself a pint as I had decided the wind wasn't dropping and I'd be staying put tonight. I sat in the shade as all the seats in the sun were filled, wishing I had brought a jumper but I put up with the chill of the cold pint until I remembered I had one in my backpack lying by my feet. Duh!!

    I wandered back to Eureka had my dinner and met two other sailors who were also planning on escaping West tomorrow, so we compared notes on the tides and agreed to leave together in the morning. It'll be nice to have a bit of company for a change.
    Read more