Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    East Ferry here we come

    June 25, 2017 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    We had another rolly night and if I didn't want a divorce then I'd better find another anchorage tonight but my plan instead was to be under sail somewhere north of the islands.

    I had been checking the forecasts and coastal reports since 07.00 and while they were still telling me that the winds were to drop, I could hear up on deck that they weren't.

    A French yacht departed at 09.00 but there were still plenty of white horses at the entrance to the sound and I could see him being thrown around as he left.
    I was staying put until I heard the winds on the coastal reports actually dropping.

    Finally at 11.30 we got the news we were waiting for and headed out.
    The sea outside was lumpy as expected and we just had a reefed main up to help keep the boat steady.

    The forecast was good until tomorrow night when the winds over Ireland were to strengthen again, so if we hadn't gone now we would be at least another two days stuck at the islands.

    We kept going and the seas and winds slowly began to ease as we left the islands behind.
    We motorsailed through the afternoon with just a mainsail which was keeping us steady as well as helping to push us along nicely.
    Traffic was heavy at first and we met two yachts heading in the opposite direction and later we had a tanker off to port holding station with us heading in the same direction.
    It was great to have AIS which gave us its speed and direction.

    By 21.00 we had shaken the reefs out of the main and unfurled the genoa. We were now under full sail and it was nice and quite with the engine off.

    Maeve didn't feel confident enough to take a watch and stayed down below but provided me with food and hot drinks when required while I relaxed in the cockpit and kept a lookout as the autopilot steered us towards home.
    The tanker later made a U turn and headed off SW and soon the seas around were empty.

    We were having a lovely sail and the early hours of the morning found us approaching some fishing boats about 70 miles south of Ireland.
    I kept an eye on one of them, the 'Saltees Tern' which looked like it was on a collision course with us unless one of us changed course.

    I waited until we got a bit closer and was just about to call him on the VHF to inform him of my intentions when he called me.
    We had a pleasant chat and found out he was towing six tons of gear behind and naturally didn't want to have to change course or speed.
    I informed him that I would cross ahead of him but would turn on my engine to cross his bows at a safe distance.

    Once I was north of him I turned off the engine and continued sailing.
    By midday due a change of wind direction we were on a course just to the east of Roches Point on a beat. Instead of tacking we furled the genny and motored past the light and into the harbour.

    Paddy Meehan was at the marina and helped us berth and by 15.30 we were safely tied up and headed home almost a month after I had left.

    We have since had many happy evenings on Eureka with a lovely warm and dry boat making us feel right at home.
    Read more