Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Day 30 Ponferrada to Santiago

    October 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    I wasn't sure what I wanted to do after Ponferrada. Did I want to continue walking on my own or not? Aside from going to Santiago I had no more special spots on my list to visit, and in 2 days walk there would be a large influx of new pilgrims walking the last 100 miles from Sarria (making accommodations more challenging to find), the weather appeared to be getting progressively worse, and I had already walked these segments with Randy and I was really missing him. In my estimation I had nothing but stubbornness and false pride to justify continuing. So I made my way to Santiago this afternoon. I visited the famous Cathedral de Santiago, the Mosteiro de San Patio de Antealtares., Casa do Dean XVIII. and took a ride around the historical district on a mini train 🚂. (I was quite disappointed, especially in comparison to the one in Leon). I am staying a couple nights, so more to come tomorrow.Read more