Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Ratho - River Avon

    June 8, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Hello paved road my old friend
    I've come to walk on you again
    For many miles that sure will crush my feet
    Until your cursed path will finally meet
    With the start of the West Highland Way
    In Milngavie [Milngai], far away
    But until then - it's paved roads..

    To slatford I walked all alone
    The narrow road as hard as stone
    Between the edge and the Union Canal
    Trying to keep upmy good morale
    When my ankles were stabbed by a flash of agony
    Also my knee
    I fucking hate - those paved roads..

    And in the morning light I saw
    Ten other hikers maybe more
    Walking on the John Muir Way
    Still so cheerish 'cause it's their first day
    Paying me no heed when I tried to explain, all in vain
    And to warn them - of paved roads..

    "Fools," said I "You do not know
    That pain in your feet will grow
    While the constant weight of your backpack
    Presses you down with every step
    And by the time you reach Falkirk at this day's end, you'll be spent.
    Your spirits broke - by paved roads..

    And in Milngavie I turned around
    Standing now on softer ground
    Looking back with nothing but relief
    Just beginning slowly to believe
    That after all this day's of suffering and pain, I'm still sane
    And rid at last - of paved roads..
    Read more