Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Arc de Triomf - Barcelona, Spain

    August 26, 2016 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    So those 15 minutes in my last post where I crashed? I was looking for the Arc de Triomf. I had been told "go and see it, get off at this metro station" and not much more than that so I didn't really know what I was looking for. So after getting off the metro, having a look around and not seeing anything remarkable, I said f it and plopped down on the grass. Eventually I got up the energy to start looking again. I quickly gave up and went to ask for directions. I asked a young woman, "¿Sabes dónde está el arc de triomf?" she actually laughed at me and pointed, saying something along the lines of, "You see that ENORMOUS structure over there? That's it." So slightly embarrassed at having missed it(in my defense I could only see it from the side so it didn't look like an arc) I made my way toward it.

    Arc de triomf(arc of triumf) is a very fitting name for such a large arc. I walked through the Arc which led to a very long pedestrian walkway (שדרה) at the end of which was a very pretty park with a little lake with a Gaudí fountain in the middle(forgot to take a picture 😥)

    Somewhere along the park I heard music and of course, being me, I naturally drifted towards the sound. I came upon two black guys playing a something with a sort of reggae vibe. One was playing the good old guitar but the other was playing a harp looking instrument with a drum thing at the bottom. There was also a random white guy sitting on the grass nearby and singing along. The result was simply wonderful. I sat down for a good half hour to write and listen to the music
    Read more