Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 42

    O Pedrouzo to Santiago de Compostela- Em

    3. Juli 2023 in Spanien ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Oh goodness I don’t really know where to start with this day. I’m writing this, finally, on the afternoon of Tuesday 4th July sitting on our quiet hotel room.
    The final walk into Santiago was uneventful - cool and gentle. We had 19. Km to walk and the first 15 of those were still along attractive country paths, which wasn’t really what I had expected. Even the final approach to the city was less busy and confusing than I had thought it would be.
    The sun had appeared by the end and we almost missed our first, quite distant view of the cathedral.
    I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about arriving in Santiago having ‘arrived’ before when I walked the week of the Portuguese route in October last year. I was concerned that I might not feel very much at all, despite the very long walk to get there.
    That was not the case. As we walked through the outskirts of the city and had closer views of the cathedral spires I had to walk a bit ahead as I found myself starting to weep. Luckily I was wearing sunglasses which disguised the tears a bit - I was hoping that I just looked hot and sweaty! I really don’t understand my emotions about being here and as I’m writing this, over 24 hours later, I’m welling up again.
    Eventually we reached the cathedral square and I was, basically, in floods of tears. As Liv commented, in the first pictures of me, I look really sad. I absolutely want but was feeling very emotional and couldn’t stop crying. It felt amazing to be there after such a long walk and after wanting to do the full Camino (obviously there are all types of Camino but his is the one I had set my heart on) for so many years.
    And then of course there was the illness. At some points it really felt as if I’d never be able to do it - for a long time I thought I’d never even be able to walk in Home Park again with the dogs as you can’t park there and I couldn’t walk as far as the end of the road. Let alone 800 km!
    Anyway all this was a bit overwhelming, especially on top of a very bad night’s sleep - the worst on the whole Camino - owing to a couple of very fierce mosquitos.
    Eventually, after lying down in the square, still with my pack on, I felt a bit better and we went off to apply for our Compostelas (the certificates you receive for walking the Camino). The pilgrims office was beautifully quiet I had been dreading this part as last October it was pandemonium, took ages and was very draining. However, I’m ashamed to say that when the very kind man I was allotted to was going through the formalities with me, I started to cry again and amazingly he put everything down and gave me a big hug!! This is definitely not usual practice as it’s quite a formal process. I felt very grateful for his kindness.
    Finally we went off to find our hotel and I was able to take my rucksack off. The hotel is cool, calm and very very welcome.
    Our packages, in my case sent on from Leon, were all waiting for us - I’m not sure really why I brought some of the stuff and certainly don’t really want it now but guess I will bring some of it home. We have a friend who sent a large suitcase to Santiago from St Jean Pied de Port and apparently the hotel are happy to keep it for her indefinitely. She really doesn’t want to pick it up so is just leaving it there for the moment. My feelings are similar - but luckily I don’t have as much.
    After going to the mass at the cathedral (sadly no blessings there for non- catholics) and, again, not seeing the Botafumeiro swing, we went for dinner at an amazing vegan restaurant, the Greenhouse, with Anna, Bella and Bellas Italian journalist friend. Delicious food - very comforting after several weeks where it’s been pretty tricky to be vegetarian at all.
    Today (4th) we found another great cafe for breakfast (for me toast with ricotta cheese, figs, walnuts and honey) and then a great place for lunch which we are planning to go back to tonight.
    At 10.30 we went to the English mass at the chápel in the Pilgrims Office. We met Joan, a nun from Ireland (who works with refugees and asylum seekers) who is volunteering there at the moment. She was another of the very luminous people we have met occasionally along the way, and very welcoming. The priest from the Philippines was also wonderful, also a shiny person, and very very kind to me. In this case, as a non Catholic I was made extremely welcome and given a lengthy and meaningful blessing that I will always remember. In fact I will always remember the whole service and the chat afterwards - also special.
    All so memorable and I feel very blessed.
    Weiterlesen