Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 208

    Prague is great!!

    December 1, 2023 in Czech Republic ⋅ ❄️ -1 °C

    First impressions of prague is that it's absolutely brilliant!! We both think it could easily become the highlight of our trip :) It snowed the day we flew here so I got up early the first morning and went straight outside to have an explore before the snow melted. It was a beautiful day and the sunny blue sky made all the snow covered buildings look so vibrant. I was having a lovely time walking around but unfortunately I bought a bag of chips to snack on which meant I had to keep my hands out of my pockets for too long which made them really really sore so I ended up having to rush home to drop the chips off. After that ordeal I knew I needed to get some warm clothes asap so I spent the rest of the day catching trams and looking in a bunch of shops all over the city. I ended up finding an awesome thrift shop where I bought two jackets and a pair of pants that all cost $9 each!! Gloves were harder to find, I ended up forking out $35 for those but they're very nice and warm :)) The next day we went out in our nice warm clothes to get some lunch, we got empanadas and a burrito then came home and had a nap. Weve found the daylight situation here is very conducive for arvo naps because it's completely dark by 4pm so it kinda feels like it's time for bed when it's still super early. After our nap I decided i wanted gingerbreads and eggnog, I was going to make make it all at home but they had ready to go stuff stuff the shops so I just got that. This turned out to be a mistake because the shop eggnog tasted so gross that we ended up tipping it down the sink. We couldnt end the day on that disappointment so we went out to a bar and tried some hot mead and grog (rum with hot water and lemon I think).
    On our third morning prague it was snowing again so we went out for a walk and ended up going to a rooftop bar where we sat and enjoyed an incredible wintery view and a few mulled wines, best drinks we've had so far!
    Read more