Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 278

    Im a skier now!!

    February 9 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 3 °C

    So about a month ago we started getting really psyched for snowboarding and were watching loads and loads of videos of it. It was kinda weird tho coz for the most part I was finding all the edits super boring and the snowboarders kept doing super cringe stuff in between clips. It felt a bit like I was watching boogie boarding or something silly like that. I realised that the only reason I preferred snowboarding over skiing was because yr10 me arbitrarily decided that snowboarding was cooler when we were asked to decide which one we wanted to do before ski tour. Out of curiosity I put on a skiing video instead and it was wayy gnarlier, the skiiers were doing way crazier tricks and everything they did was just so much faster and bigger. Fast forward a few weeks and despite this new-found ambivalence, I ended up deciding to snowboard in Turkey just because I could already do it and i figured I'd be able to enjoy it more than starting from scratch skiing. This went well for the first day and a half but I ended up getting insanely bored and by the third day I didn't even want to go to the mountain anymore. I decided to take my snowboard back to the rental place and swap it for some skis! My first day of skiing was the first day ozge was with us on the mountain and she wanted to learn how to snowboard so her and spencer did that and I went off by myself to teach myself skiing. It was really weird at first having to use both my feet equally instead of being goofy, I could only turn one way and i felt so uncoordinated whenever I had to use my right foot, but by the end of the day I'd gotten used to it and could zig zag my way down the beginner slope faster than most of the other people.

    Today was my 4th day skiing and I can now confirm its so much better than snowboarding. It's more stable and easier to stop which means you can go wayy faster. I've been pushing myself to see how long I can go straight down slopes without turning, its exhilarating! I'm so glad I decided to change, I can't believe I disregarded skiing for so long just because it looked less like surfing lol. All my future snow experiences are going to be so much better now. What a monumental W!!

    Also that lady's name is fatma, we rented lockers from her she kept trying to have banter with us in Turkish so we never got it, she was really sweet :) and that vid is of my second day btw I got better than that I promise ahaha
    Read more