Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 333

    Cherry blossoms, shinjuku and shibuya

    April 4 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Yesterday I arrived in tokyo at 6am having not slept the entire night. I caught the train into the city and got some corner store sushi for breakfast (it was so delicious) and then went to the imperial palace park to see some Cherry blossoms. I was hoping to lay down and relax at the park until I could check into the hostel but it was raining so had to roam around a bit more than I planned. There were a few Cherry blossom trees but nothing too breathtaking. In the afternoon I went and got souffle Pancakes for an early dinner. I was so shocked when my plate arrived because the serving was enormous, each pancake was the size of my fist!!! The gigantic portion size made me laugh a bit coz it reminded me of the time in primary school when i made my japanese foreign exchange student a big bowl of icecream for dessert and he wouldn't start it because he knew he couldn't finish it and he didn't wanna be rude. I didn't want the people at the restaurant thinking I was rude so I forced all mine down.

    Today i was on a mission to get new shoes. My current ones are so worn out the soles are basically entirely disconnected and it rained yesterday which meant the insides of my shoes were wet when I went to put them on this morning. I roamed around shinjuku for ages trying buy new ones but no shops stock my size, just like Singapore. Eventually I gave up shopping and walked to see the meiji jingu temple. The temple is surrounded by a huge forest with a tall, thick canopy that completely covers the paths going in and out. This made the temple feel kind of mystical because it felt like I'd walked through a scene from totoro to get there :)). After the temple I went to shibuya to see the famous busy street crossing and joined in with all the other tourists walking through it over and over taking photos. After that I stopped by a one piece shop which was sick and then went to a sushi place called uobei for lunch. Uobei was so dope, you order on an ipad and then your food comes to you on a sushi train. It felt like a proper japanese experience. The sushi was delicious and really cheap too! I only spent $5 and was stuffed. After lunch I roamed around shibuya a bit more and then went to shinjuku gyoen on the way home to see more Cherry blossoms. This time I got a proper Cherry blossom experience, they were everywhere and it was sooo pretty. I hung out at the park for an hour or so feeling very happy about my first full day :). Had some ramen for dinner from a place near the hostel which was fab and then hung out with some other guests until bed.
    Read more