Satellite
Show on map
  • One week before take off!

    August 20, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    The sky is hazy with smoke, and the poison oak is thick on the trail side, but still, I must get out to train for the walk in Spain. Three hours of walking up and down and all around Roxy Anne Point with my 15 lb pack. I overshot the parking area and had to back track up hill another mile to my car. All good for the greater workout. My shoes are well worn in, and my feet are as ready as they're going to be.
    A bicyclist past me and slowed to a stop. He asked if he could bother me for a wipey of some type. His elbow was raw with gravel embedded in it and dripping of blood. He happened to fall near me, the only hiker with a Spain ready pack on my her back. I was able to patch him up with wipes and bandages. Who knew I'd be opening my first aid kit today for someone in need!
    A large part of today's hike, I walked alone ( not quite alone for I had my furry companion). So many familiar thoughts of walking my last Camino surfaced, reminding me of how the next 35 days will look like...feel like, walking 500 miles. I anticipate the many incredible interactions I have yet to encounter. ✨️✨️✨️✨️✨️
    Read more