Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Frontier crossing

    January 28, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    Flights to Peru were fucking expensive so I was looking for another way to cross the border.
    A friend of mine I met in Lima told me about this travel agency in Tumbes wich would bring be for 45$ over the border up to the mountains of cuenca.
    So I went to Tumbes with Mario, we met the agency, dropped Mario off at Tumbes airport and continued in a small black Kia with blacked out windows to the border.
    The first and only “police control” ended up with a gentle handshake 🤝 💸 and „viajes seguros“. Suddenly I was in ecuador, changed the vehicle into a Taxi. The driver and his girlfriend couldn’t stop theyre laughing once they realised on wich level my Spanish was and what I just did.
    They brought me to the bus station to Cuenca, there we realised that the bus is leaving 5 hours later at 1 am.
    They took me out for dinner, then we bought some beers and went to their apartment we‘re we watched several Michael Jackson concerts on YouTube. They were pretty impressed by my moonwalk skills 🌝
    At 0:30 they drove me to the bus we’re I had a prime seat first row wich mucho leg space. I slept through for 5 hours when we arrived in Cuenca.
    Why did nobody told me that it’s gonna be that cold?
    Read more