Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Another Broken Day

    March 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    We left home and drove to Another Broken Egg Cafe at Biltmore Park near Asheville. I ordered the Bourbon Street Pancakes. The service was terrible. The food was cold. I received bacon instead of sausage. ABEC was a HUGE disappointment. It’s typically a great place to eat.

    Liz and I walked to the Barnes and Noble in the same shopping complex as ABEC. I purchased a paperback copy of Shorefall by Robert Jackson Bennett, two Harry Potter blind packs, and something for Liz. That I cannot recall at the moment.

    We were going to drive to B&N but the car wouldn’t start. This led to a great deal of phone calls to car rental places, auto repair shops, and Geico Insurance. Turns out, the rental reimbursement we have on our policy only covers new cars. 🤬

    We had the Jeep towed to Skyland Exxon. Liz and I stayed back at Biltmore Park in case we needed to Uber to the airport for a rental. We finally gave up waiting and walked to the nearby McDonalds for a drink. I had Diet Coke and a strawberry and crème pie. Liz has a Sprite.

    I’m not sure how long we waited before mom called to tell us the car was fixed and to send money. The repair was $107 and some change. The wire to the starter was too short and had broken off. Mom met Liz and I at the CVS across the street from the previously mentioned McDonalds. Liz bought a couple of planting kits (lavender and strawberries) and a die cast car for David.

    We left Asheville before anything else unfortunate could happen and headed to Charlotte. We made a quick stop at IKEA to pick up a Detolf cabinet for my Harry Potter stuff. After a quick stop at Chinese Palace for some General’s chicken, we finally ended out day at the Days Inn near the Charlotte airport. The hotel has seen better days but served its purpose.
    Read more