Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Fiescheralp

    December 29, 2018 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ -8 °C

    Wow where do I start regarding today. It was just so amazing. You see pictures of the ski resorts in Switzerland but they are so much better than I imagined and photos do not do them justice.

    We left cologne at 1.30am and drove in the dark till the sun rose at about 7.45am and we were greeted with the most amazing vistas. Just mind blowing with picture perfect weather.

    We drove the car onto the train which took us through the Furka Pass tunnel and we then drove through the valley to Fiesch. Parked the car and loaded all our luggage into a large trolley that came with us on the cable car to the top. I don’t even know how to describe the view from Fiescheralp at the top. I felt like I was on top of the world looking at a postcard. It was a total bucket list experience.

    The snowplough/tractor took our luggage as well as louise and lochie to the hotel jungfrau where we quickly settled in, after a fantastic lunch. Lochie could hardly contain the excitement and although we hadn’t planned to start skiing till tomorrow, lochie would not wait. So we booked them into ski school from Monday but got the three kids a two hour private lesson for tomorrow to get them underway. But even that was not good enough for lochie who wanted his skis on now cause he had come here to go skiing! Vern and I agreed to give them a go with help from uncle Philipp. Lochie nailed the basic snowplough on the magic carpet on the beginners hill in 20mins, and the other two kids had it after about an hour. They all just loved it and wouldn’t stop till the sun started to set.

    Now I am going to go overboard with the photos here and will text some videos, but they really don’t do the place justice. Although I don’t ski I know I will come back here cause just sitting outside is such a wonderful experience.
    Read more