Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Michigan: Pictured Rocks

    July 17, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Pictures Rocks has been on my must-sees list for several years. Sheepishly I will admit that I didn't really know anything about it until a few years ago when actress Kristen Bell posted pics from a trip they took to the area and I was dumbfounded that this was in Michigan.

    So when we started planning the trip, I planned this stop for purely selfish reasons. Yes, I figured Nate and the boys would enjoy it, but of all the stops this is the one I was most excited about. It did not disappoint.

    After the shipwreck tour, we drove out to the visitors center and then out to Miners Castle overlook. The view is incredible. The green-blue of the water against the light-colored sandstone tipped by trees is supremely beautiful. I didn't even mind seeing the boats along the coast below, except that I was jealous that we didn't have that vantage point. After taking in the view, we hiked out to beautiful Miners Falls then headed back to the campsite.

    We didn't have any firm plans the rest of the day and I couldn't get those Pictured Rocks views out of my head. We looked into renting kayaks, but that was going to cost $500 for all four of us and neither of us could stomach that price tag, so instead Nate booked us a sunset cruise to Pictures Rocks.

    We didn't have the freedom to roam about as easily on this boat as the one earlier in the morning, but we still enjoyed stunning views. The Captain did a great job of sharing about the history and geology of how the shoreline was formed. Pictured Rocks is best seen from the water and I'm so glad we were able to get out and see it on such a perfect weather day. Watching the sunset on one side of the boat and seeing the cliffs and rock formations on the other as we floated along was beautiful.
    Read more