Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Keswick

    May 9, 2022 in England ⋅ ☁️ 57 °F

    Derwentwater is 10 minutes outside our door. We took a boat cruise on this lake this morning. It’s picture perfect with the its four islands and the mountains as a backdrop. I get a peak of this outside my hotel window.

    I enjoyed having a little downtime this afternoon. Three of us wandered to the town square and did a little shopping. I found 3 new tops. Spaghetti at Casa Bella’s was what I was in need of after all the English foods I’ve tried! We finished it off with my new favorite flavor of gelato called Honeycomb. The banks are closed 4 days a week here and the ATM wouldn’t work for me. Thank heavens for the Visa card! I’m almost out of British money.

    A few adventuresome people are doing the strenuous climb to see the Castlerigg Stone Circle. About 12 of us opted to take a cab! The circle is one of the oldest in Britain…about 5000 years old. The 38 stones are mysteriously laid out on a line between the two tallest peaks on the horizon and face north. The heavens opened up and the wind tried to take our umbrellas, but we got to see the site.

    Jamie, our guide, treated us to a cheese tasting happy hour. Since we had a big lunch, we skipped going out in the heavy rains. I really like this town and would happily spend more time in the Lake District villages and towns. We hit the road tomorrow morning and travel to York, the area where the show “All Creatures Great and Small” is filmed.
    Read more