Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 98

    First trip out to the ice

    December 17, 2017 in Canada ⋅ 🌙 -27 °C

    Yesterday I had another Arctic first....snowmobiling on the sea ice. #348 of things I never thought I'd say.

    I needed to test my true winter gear in case we end up going out when Jonathan is here. My boss's snowmobile has not been running right and he wanted to take it out and get it hot to see if that helped. I thought to myself, "hmmm, your snowmobile isn't running right, so I'm going to ride out onto the sea ice with you". That good decision making again. But, I did insist that a GPS come with us and thankfully, we didn't really get too far out of eyesight of the town.

    It also was the coldest day of the year yesterday. Something around -26 or -27C (-16 F) with windchills of -40 or -41C (-40 F). That wind was incredible. I was warm and cozy though. I think that having a windshield and a person in front of you is key! I wanted to take a few pictures and I've never felt such searing pain so quickly in my hands from the cold. I took a video and at 15 seconds the pain was so hot and painful that I had to basically just drop the phone in my pocket and see to my hands. FIFTEEN SECONDS. Hands were on fire. I have had my hands hurt that bad from the cold before, but just not in that short of a time period. And, the seriousness of leaving your hands unprotected really hits home when I felt that pain in such a short time.

    My boss asked if I'd driven a snowmobile before and when I told him no, he let me take it for a cruise. That's when I learned that having a human windblock in front of you is way better than the dinky windshield. I will have to have better nose/cheek protection if I'm going to drive one for more than 1 minute. I also learned that the hand-protection necessary for me to live and keep my fingers actually prevents me from holding the handlebar and throttle. My wittle hands in the big ole mitts barely could hold on and stay in control. Again, gonna have to figure something out with that.....

    We visited the cemetery which was cool. It overlooks the town. I have no idea how the graves are dug and how they bury folks in the winter......maybe they just sit outside in the Earth cooler until summer?? I tried sweeping off some snow from the markers to see information, but the two I tried cleaning off had nothing on them?? No idea.

    It was fun to fly across the snow, which was actually the ice. You can't tell when you're on it. Maybe we'll go to the floe edge when Jonathan is here. I also had to remind myself to keep an eye out for bears. I mean, we are driving around their home.

    All in all, I was really pleased with how my boots, parka, mitts and hat went. Which that reminds me, my beaver hat that I got from surplus on a totally lucky fluke is freaking awesome! I look ridiculous, but that thing is amazing. I wore it yesterday to test it for Jonathan because I was planning on letting him wear it. Man, oh man, he's gonna be spoiled. Not one ice tendril of -40 wind (and probably colder since we were running at 20km/hr on a skidoo too!) made it's way past the hard-working beaver fur protecting my face. I tell ya, if I could skin a zoo and wear it, I would. (I debated writing that sentence--but I knew my readers would know it was all in jest. Of course I wouldn't skin a zoo. I mean, what would I do with a turtle shell? lololol). I will be getting another layer for my legs. I had wool long underwear, 800 gram weight down filled mid-layer pants, and windproof, insulated snow pants on top. Wasn't enough. One more layer---maybe my Carhartt bibs.

    I am off to the airport in just a few hours to pick up Jonathan! He's made the journey and even skirted a blizzard in Iqaluit to land and even depart to Igloolik. Luck be a lady! (No idea what that means---but it seems like it should fit here!). Can't wait to see what he thinks of everything!!!
    Read more