Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 110

    Forty-Eighth Sea Day

    April 7, Indian Ocean ⋅ 🌬 21 °C

    I went to the mixed Bible Study group.

    Bob stayed in the stateroom and relaxed.

    After Bible Study, I returned to the stateroom and got some work done.

    As I was working, I noticed that we were seemingly not moving at all. We are just sitting in the middle of the ocean in fairly rough seas just floating. Every once and a while, we get hit by a big wave. We have no idea what is going on but are finding it a bit exciting.

    At noon, the Captain gave us the navigational update. He indicated that we were being pushed by the Agulhas Current at a rate of 5 Knots and we were traveling at 10 Knots. Being in the Agulhas Current made it seem as if we were standing still. Catastrophe at sea averted-excitement for Brenda over.

    The whole ship is debating on whether we will make it into port at Port Elizabeth. The majority of those onboard do not believe that we will make it into port. For Henry and Krystal's sake, we are hoping that we make it into port but I would be okay with another sea day.

    We attended the Interdenominational Service and were treated with hymns sung by members of the Viking Neptune guest choir.

    After church, Krystal asked if I could do her a favor and find another piece of luggage and bring it to guest services. Guest services would then finish packing for the Hollands and have their luggage delivered to their hotel in Port Elizabeth if they needed to stay ashore. I told Krystal that I knew of someone who had told us that they had an extra piece of luggage.

    After services, we attended a lecture on Egypt and the bible. In this lecture, Resident Historian, Dr. Bryan Babcock examined the archaeological evidence to determine if it supports or refutes the biblical record. The conclusion is that much archaeological evidence does support the biblical record.

    We had reservations at Manfredi's for dinner. I told Bob to meet Dale and Jenni at Manfredi's while I run to the stateroom and call Ron and Carol to see if they still had an extra suitcase. They did, so I went to their stateroom and collected it. I texted Krystal and told her when they finished dinner, she could come down to Manfredi's to pick up my key to our stateroom where she could just grab the suitcase and leave my key in the stateroom.

    We had a good time with the Prichetts but we are all tiring a bit of the food onboard. This is helpful to my goal of losing weight before Travis and Ashley's wedding in June.

    We headed to bed amidst rough seas.
    Read more