Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Louvre

    June 20, 2018 in France ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Our final stop for the day was at the Louvre. We spent 3 hours in a place where you could spend days. I overheard a tour guide say that there was 14 Km of floor to walk. The exhibits went on and on and on. The inside looks so modern. I didn't know what to expect but I was surprised since the outside had the gorgeous older architecture.
    I'm not an artsy kind of guy so I don't understand why the Mona Lisa is such a masterpiece. They have it set far away from people and behind two panes of glass, so it was not as clear as I thought it would be. The reflections of people in the glass was obvious.
    The other two pieces that I wanted to see were Winged Victory and the Venus Demilo.
    Venus was created sometime around 130 BC and was found in ruins on the island of Milos in 1820.
    Winged Victory is said to be created about a century before the Venus and was discovered in 1863.
    I found it interesting that both of these pieces were removed from the Louvre in 1939 prior to the start of WWII and hidden to avoid looting and destruction.
    Read more