Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Out of Foncebadon and into the mountains

    April 18 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    The night in the renovated convent was absolutely lovely. I feel so blessed for this beautiful weather across beautiful country.

    Just 2 km from our convent is the “Cruz de fierro”- the iron cross. This is a place where pilgrims place a stone or other symbolic item as a way to lay down their burden. It may be a memorial for a loved one, a personal quest, or a release.

    When we started planning for the Camino, we knew we wanted to come here. We both picked out stones from home and carried them in our pockets. We left the Albergue at 6:15 with the full sky of stars ⭐️ greeting us. We pass the field of sleeping cows and a pond of frogs that had been so noisy the night before. We made it to the cross as the sun rose.

    I brought 2 stones. A small rose quartz serves as a symbol of letting go of my heart ever being smaller than it truly is. To let go of hiding myself or my deeper emotions, to open to the beautiful extremes of life. We great joy comes great sorrow, with deep love comes deep loss. My emotions are my superpowers and I’m willing to stand up for them.
    A small oval stone I had painted in gold 🌀 spirals. It symbolized to me opening up to was beyond my imagination. What is beyond perception and doubt to what is truly felt and known in the spirit.
    I was truly touched by the hundreds of other burdens laid down - stones, shoes, rosaries 📿, jewelry, toys, flags….

    As we walked onward to the sun touching the tops of the mountains, we talked about what the experience meant to us and what we welcome with that release. It’s the kind of conversation I’m so glad to have with my life partner!

    At the top of one of the highest passes, there was a tiny coffee cart with fresh hard boiled eggs, espresso and other things. By mostly a view and a fire! 🔥

    We are starting to feel the challenge of the walk more now. At over 51,000 steps (18. 1 miles) today, I go to bed with a very sore knee. And not the one that has been injured the last 8 months! The stress from walking down very rough terrain is working that joint line. Luckily there was a farmacia at our ending point where the pharmacist looked at my knee and gave me a knee brace and some CBD/Arnica cream.

    And poor paul has an impressive blister on his toe .

    We are both trying to keep ahead with the sunscreen, tho it’s ☀️ still getting us with sweaty clothes and heat rash.

    Regardless, we remain very positive and grateful for the amazing accommodations available, for the community of pilgrims, for the drinkable tap water, for a soft bed and a hot shower. And for our continued support of each other.
    Read more