Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Gorgeous hike - with my own rain cloud

    February 8, 2023 in New Zealand

    Seems as if I’m carrying a little rain cloud over my head….
    I had an amazing day doing the Pouakai Crossing in Egmont National Park. Allegedly, you have amazing and quite impressive views during this full-day hike…
    I had impressive views… of clouds, fog, rain… at least for the first 2/3 of the hike. It was still impressive - just not what I had hoped for looking at the weather forecast yesterday.

    Good news: I had the shuttle (I parked my car at the end of the trail and was shuttled to the trailhead) almost to myself, there were hardly any people on the trail, my rain jacket really holds up to it’s promise and my hiking pants are fast drying. Also, given the few stops I was much faster than expected - and I actually started the day with a rainbow. All in all pretty good - just different 😎

    On a sidenote - I think this is cow island. There were many, many sheeps on the South Island. There are quite many here as well - but waaaaay more cows!!
    Read more