Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 36

    What’s left to say?

    17. februar 2023, Forenede Stater

    It was an amazing trip. As always, not enough time and I could have stayed so much longer. But I did miss my own bed. And also Seattle… a bit… sooo… after a few nights back home, 5 days at work, Seattle rain - I’d be ready to see the world again.

    Giving that this is not happening, some numbers to reflect about my trip:
    - 8 flights (one more than planned)
    - 30 days (2 nights in Sydney, 7 (vs 6 planned) in Tasmania and 19 (or so) in NZ)
    - 3868 km added to my rental car
    - Attempts to turn on the windscreen wipers but accidentally ended with the indicator/ turn signals: approx 8x
    - Number of times driving on the wrong side of the road: 1x - and I realized it very quickly. I guess the fun starts when I’m back home
    - uncounted # km in my hiking boots and on my feet - but only 2 blisters!
    - 2 kayaking tours
    - 1 heli ride and 1 glacier hike
    - Number of photos: I’m not going to count - but I know - a lot!!
    - Number of items left behind (knowingly): 6 (rain pants no longer waterproof (and yes, I had impregnated them before), one pair of shoes, a hat, a water bladder - I tried, but this is not for me!, a broken camelbak waterbottle, and - still no idea where - a buff neck gaiter). Not too bad, I think.
    - Hobbit, platypus and Tasman devil sightings: 0 unfortunately
    - Number of audiobooks finished during this trip: 9; print books: 1; podcasts: many!
    - Favorite place or best thing of this trip - no way to answer - too many amazing places and experiences.
    - 1546 unread emails in my work inbox after coming back (I’m actually surprised that it was not more).

    And with that, some final thoughts:
    - Hard to believe, but you can get blisters from Birkenstock
    - Only because I am (also) German does not mean that I want to become friends with you fellow German solo traveller, I’m sorry. And yes, maybe I don’t even want to talk more than 3 sentences to you! Americans understand that much better!
    - I’m clearly a pool swimmer. I saw many, many beautiful beaches and passed so many pretty lakes - but hardly went for a swim.
    - Avis is great and so was my car. Thank you!
    - Jetstar however sucks. And even when it comes to refunds, they are slower than anything.
    - Air NZ was nice - but that Vancouver transfer was a disaster
    - I saw so much roadkill. Given that NZ wants to get rid of all the possums, weasels, stoats and alike, I’m wondering whether people are driving over them on purpose?
    - You only get coffee before 3pm
    - It‘s okay to be in bed by 9:30pm almost every day during vacation.
    - Each NZ has a sign indicating the ‚duty manager‘. So, if you want to complain to the manager, you can become really personal.
    - Scones will always be my death. The next trips must be to non-scone countries!
    - 3 works are just not enough for NZ - but at least a start.

    Thanks for staying with me all to the end ☺️
    Læs mere