Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Last night in Reykjavik

    March 28, 2016 in Iceland ⋅ ⛅ -1 °C

    Well, my travel buddy has left me. The dangers of flying from different destinations I suppose - we didn't have affordable direct flights to our respective states on the same day. My oldest photo of Jennifer dates to my 12 year old surprise birthday party in Brownsburg, Indiana. By that time, Indiana was the fourth state I'd lived in. The fact that we're traveling about the globe together 25 years later makes my heart feel warm. Should I be blessed with another 25, who will I be then? Undoubtedly even more myself, but where, doing what? I'm a person who has never been able to predict even 5 years in advance. But 25 years? The thought is delightful.

    On the way to taking her to the airport, we stopped at the legendary Blue Lagoon. "It's so touristy," they say, "It's too crowded," I hear. I advise you, listen to none of this nonsense. As a lover of hot springs, let me tell you: Blue Lagoon is world class. Gorgeous, stark, foreboding, enchanting, relaxing, and more adjectives than these. The white silica mud caking the insane piles of black lava rocks looks otherworldly, surrounded by steam in this vast landscape. If I were to imagine a hot spring on the moon, it would be the Blue Lagoon - only silent, with no human disturbance to mar my sense of delighted wonderment.

    I'm winding down the day now at the Bus Hostel. I share a bunk room with 5 others. Iceland decor seems to swing between ultra modern looking IKEA things to a collection of charming antiques and mismatched china. Bus Hostel definitely swings toward the charming. The music playing is perfectly appropriate: 1930s sounding arrangements of popular pop songs. I finally figured out the city map, as I walked back from returning my rental car, and refound the recommended Fish & More. Ordering Fish Stew, I was quite surprised at the plate, though it was entirely delicious. Writing the last postcards, drinking the last cup of tea, about to spend the last night.
    Read more