Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Sarah sees a whale at last

    May 4, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Oddly, our first day in Aukland started with a job interview. And a panic as I realized my google phone could make calls, but wasn't accepting them. But we got that sorted.

    We're staying at the Ambury Campground, which is also a farm. Very charming, but with a very early curfew. While I was on the phone, Nate was jogging about, photographing sheep.

    Our main activity for the day was a whale tour. I've been trying to see a whale for just ever. In Dominica, no dice. In Scotland, no dice. But I read this tour in Auckland was quite good, in part, because they have a whale that doesn't migrate. The Brydes Whale.

    We met up at the Auckland Whale and Dolphin Safari at 1p, and set out for the Hauraki Gulf. It was the most gorgeous day. I really didn't expect late fall in Auckland to be so nice. June marks the beginning of winter here. But it was gorgeously sunny and in the 60s. It was lovely being out on a calm sea making vitamin D.

    One interesting species we saw quite a few of was the little blue penguin. Quite cute, but also the smallest penguin, and whenever we got close, they dove under water. We came across a pod of common dolphins as well, who swam along the boat with us for quite a while. There were a few baby dolphins that were so curious and playful. And finally, at long last, where the zooplankton met the phytoplankton, we came across 2 Brydes whales. They were lovely and massive. Their blow holes spouted mist whenever they surfaced, and we were able to get quite close.

    It was a long tour, and after 6p when we got back, enjoying a beautiful sunset over the sea. Not enjoying being locked our of our campground when we arrived at 7.15p. A huge, impassable metal gate shut at 7p apparently. As we had already paid for the campground, I was irate and stalked off into the darkness to find the camp host and kindly ask them to let us in.

    The walk turned out to be quite long, and I found myself in a strange farm pen after a wrong turn. The snorts of a sleeping, unfamiliar sow alerted me. Eventually I did find the camp host, and they did let us in, and so I am not writing this from the side of the road.
    Read more